Remote sensing & climate modeling

LMU_Logo (1).png

The aim of this sub-project is to generate spatially explicit input data for the modelling of GHG emissions from peatlands by means of innovative remote sensing techniques and to deliver climate data and climate projections.

 

Remote sensing

Manmade drainage and climate change induced drying up of peatlands leads to the oxidation of organic matter, which in turn brings along the emission of large amounts of GHGs and the subsidence of the peat surface. Monitoring the surface movement of peatlands provides therefore information on their emissions. To accomplish this task, we apply interferometric techniques to Sentinel 1 synthetic aperture radar data that are able to detect lifting and subsidence within a mm accuracy. The applied methods are the Persistent Scatterer Interferometry (Ferretti et al 2000, 2001) and the Small Baseline approach (Berardino et al. 2002). Besides, Sentinel 1 satellite data is used to derive the mowing dates of grassland on cultivated peatlands which represent an important information for the modelling of GHG emissions.
A cloud-computing based approach is further applied to extract NDVI time series over whole Bavaria from optical Sentinel 2 satellite data. Seasonal dynamics of the vitality of the peatland vegetation can be detected by this means. Finally, we derive spatially explicit evapotranspiration maps from optical LANDSAT data which are used to validate the hydrological models in sub-project 2.

PS_StaMPS_SFZ_WFZ_2018_V1_edited.jpg

Mean line-of-sight (LOS) velocity [mm/year] of the peatland surface in Schechenfilz and Weidfilz for the year 2018

Regional climate projections

This subproject provides observed meteorological data and climate projections for the modelling activities in the other subprojects. Regarding the historical period, the meteorological reference dataset SDCLIREF is available which was developed at the Department of Geography of LMU. In addition, 10 simulations out of the climate model large ensemble CRCM5-LE (Leduc et al. 2019) can be provided for the period 1980-2099. This data set is an output of the ClimEx project (funded by the Bavarian StMUV). Each simulation is run with slightly different initialisation parameters which lead to different manifestations of the same climate. This allows to reproduce the natural variability of the climate system. The climate projections for the future are based on the emission scenario RCP8.5 (Representative Concentration Pathway), the most extreme scenario available for which a strong temperature increase and reduction of summer precipitations is expected over whole Bavaria. By this means, it is possible to simulate situations of severe stress for the peatlands.

KLima.png

Mean monthly precipitation sums and average temperatures for the Schechenfilz for the period 1950-1999 compared to 2018, which was remarkably dry

team

Team of project 4

Ludwig-Maximilians University
Department of Geography
Research and teaching unit "Physical Geography and Remote Sensing"

  • Prof. Dr. Ralf Ludwig

  • Dr. Philip Marzahn

  • Dr. Verena Huber García

disp_amp_V6_F3_edited.jpg

Fernerkundung & Klimamodellierung

LMU_Logo (1).png

Ziel dieses Teilprojekts ist es mit Hilfe innovativer Fernerkundungsmethoden räumlich differenzierte Eingangsdaten für die Modellierung von Treibhausgasemissionen aus Moorflächen zu erzeugen, so wie die Bereitstellung von Klimadaten & Klimaprojektionen.

 

Fernerkundung

Durch anthropogen gesteuerte Entwässerung oder klimabedingte Austrocknung von Mooren wird organisches Material oxidiert, was die Freisetzung großer Mengen an Treibhausgasen und die Sackung der Mooroberfläche mit sich bringt. Das Monitoring der vertikalen Oberflächenbewegung von Mooren kann daher direkt Aufschluss über die Mooremissionen geben. Zu diesem Zweck werden interferometrische Verfahren auf Sentinel 1 Radarsatellitendaten angewendet, die Hebungs- und Sackungsprozesse im Millimeterbereich detektieren können. Dabei handelt es sich um die Persistent-Scatterer-Interferometrie (Ferretti et al 2000, 2001) wie auch um die Small-Baseline-Methode (Berardino et al. 2002). Des Weiteren werden Sentinel-1-Daten dazu verwendet, Schnitttermine von Grünland auf bewirtschafteten Mooren abzuleiten, die eine wichtige Information für die Treibhausgas-modellierug darstellen.

Aus optischen Sentinel 2 Satellitendaten werden mit Hilfe eines cloud-computing basierten Ansatzes NDVI-Zeitreihen für ganz Bayern erzeugt um Aussagen über die Dynamik der Pflanzenvitalität auf Mooren machen zu können. Schlussendlich dienen aus LANDSAT-Daten abgeleitete räumliche Verdunstungskarten den hydrologischen Modellen in Teilprojekt 2 als Kalibrierungsgrundlage.

PS_StaMPS_SFZ_WFZ_2018_V1_edited.jpg

Bewegungsgeschwindigkeit [mm/Jahr] der Mooroberflächen in Schechenfilz und Weidfilz in Blickrichtung des Satelliten im Jahr 2018.

Regionale Klimaprojektion

Das Teilprojekt 4 stellt für die Modellierungen der anderen Teilprojekte meteorologische Beobachtungsdaten und Klimamodellprojektionen zur Verfügung. Für den historischen Zeitraum wird auf den meteorologischen Referenzdatensatz SDCLIREF zurückgegriffen, der am Department für Geographie der LMU entwickelt wurde. Von dem im ClimEx-Projekt (finanziert durch das Bayerische StMUV) erzeugten Klimamodell Large Ensemble CRCM5-LE (Leduc et al 2019) stehen dem Projekt 10 Simulationen für den Zeitraum 1980-2099 zur Verfügung. Die einzelnen Simulationen wurden mit leicht veränderten Startbedingungen initialisiert, welches zu unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen desselben Klimas führt und somit die natürliche Variabilität des Klimasystems abbilden können. Für die zukünftige Entwicklung des Klimas wird das Emissionsszenario RCP8.5 (RCP – Representative Concentration Pathway) verwendet und postuliert damit ein extremes Zukunftsszenario, in dem mit einer sehr starken Temperaturzunahme und einem Rückgang des sommerlichen Niederschlags in Bayern zurechnen ist. Somit können gravierende Stressfaktoren für die Moore simuliert werden.

KLima.png

Mittlere monatliche Niederschlagssummen und Mitteltemperaturen über dem Schechenfilz für den Zeitraum 1950-1999 im Vergleich zum Trockenjahr 2018.

Team

Team des Projekts 4

Ludwig-Maximilians Universität
Department für Geographie
Lehrstuhl für Geographie und geographische Fernerkundung
  • Prof. Dr. Ralf Ludwig

  • Dr. Philip Marzahn

  • Dr. Verena Huber García

  • Thomas Ramsauer

disp_amp_V6_F3_edited.jpg